2016 Yaletown BIA Board Members; Elections, Appointments and Incumbents

On behalf of the Nominations Committee of the Board, who is responsible for the election process of the Association, here is the outcome of Board nominations and appointments.

On September 7, 2016 the deadline for any further nomination to the official slate was reached and given that in accordance with our Bylaws there are no nominations from the floor at the AGM, the nomination process was closed.

As a response to the Board request at the 2016 Annual General Meeting, 13 Yaletown BIA members expressed their interest in serving on the Board. The Nominations Committee then commenced with interviewing each candidate. This process took several weeks to complete.

The Nominations Committee then recommended 6 candidates be appointed to the Board, to serve a term until the next AGM, where they may run for election.

Therefore the Yaletown BIA is pleased to advise you that the Board of Directors for the Yaletown BIA for the year 2017 is listed below.


  • Wendy Derzai, Labatt’s
  • Nicholas Gandossi, Opus Hotel
  • Michael La Prairie, Century 21 In Town Realty
  • Neil Wyles, Skoah
  • Jaclyn Callaghan, New Oxford
  • Dr. Stephanie Bonn, Bonn Chiropractic Wellness

Appointed – term expires 2017

  • Daniel Burke, La Pentola
  • Arkun Durmaz, Sylvia House
  • Luis Giraldo, Karameller Candy
  • Hodie Rondeau, Xoxolat
  • Dayton Turner, Voxter Communications Inc.
  • Jeff Wong, Swirl Wine Store

On behalf of our members, the Committee and the Board, we would like to thank all who put their name forward to serve the Yaletown business community in this capacity; it is a vital component in the health of our Association and district.

Leave a Reply